COMMISSIONER'S RECORD M

460

Two members of the Wakarusa Township Board, namely: Frank Topping and Fred Peterson, Treasurer and Clerk respectively, definitely objected to any change invoting precincts in said township. Their contention was that the majority of people in Waka. Twp., was satisfied to let the precincts remain as is:--the maintaining of only one pct. in the township.

Clifford Harding of the Farm Security Office again made a request to the Board for additional personnel for his office, because of two members of his office forceleaving in the near future for new positions.

It was moved by James F. Brass that Clifford Harding be authorized to employ additional personnel for said office at the compensation of \$50.00 per month, said compensation to be paid from the Social Welfare funds. A second was made by Earl T. Black. On vote, put by the Chairman, all voted in the affirmative.

Minutes for the month of March were read for passage of the Commissioners. After completion of same, James F. Brass moved that the minutes be approved as read. Earl T. Black seconded the motion. On vote, the motion carried.

The Board adjourned to resolve itself into the Board of Social Welfare.

The County Director and the Supervisor of Eusiness and Finance discussed the allowing of social welfare bills at an earlier date than heretofore, in order that a detailed report may be made, in time to be submitted to the State by the 8th of each month. It was deemed advisable that all claims pertaining to social welfare be called in by the 28th of each month so that they may be presented for payment to the Board by the first of the month.

No further business appearing before the Board, said Board adjourned to meet April 27, as the Board of County Commissioners.

1L hao

Chris Schaake, Chairman of the Board of County Commissioners.

April 27, 1938.

In regular adjourned session, the Board of County Commissioners met in its regular meeting rooms with all members of the Board and the County Clerk present.

The County Attorney met with the Board for a detailed discussion on the establishing of voting precincts in townships of this county, designating boundary lines of each.

It was moved by Earl T. Black that the boundaries of the precincts be fixed as outlined on the map, setting up two precincts for Lecompton, four for Palmyra and two for Wakarusa.

Motion lost because want of a second.

ATTEST:

KL

ferhard-

T. R. Gerhart, County Clerk

After further discussion and deliberation, James F. Brass moved that Lecomptonbe divided into two precincts as designated on the map, and Palmyra into four precincts as so designated. Earl T. Black seconded the motion. On vote, put by Chairman Chris Schaake, the motion carried by affirmative vote.

Pursuant thereto, the following resolution was passed by the Board:

NOTICE OF RESOLUTION PASSED BY THE BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS OF DOUGLAS COUNTY AT THE REGULAR ADJOURNED MEETING HELD ON APRIL 27, 1938.

WHEREAS, under Chapter 223 of the Session Laws of Kansas, 1937, the Board of County Commissioners are empowered and authorized when they deem it necessary, to establish more than one precinct in any township in its county, and

WHEREAS, said Board of County Commissioners of Douglas County after due consideration of the matter of voting precincts in the townships in said county deem it necessary to establish more than one precinct in Lecompton and Palmyra townships in Douglas County.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED by the Board of County Commissioners of Douglas County, Kansas, that Lecompton township be and is hereby divided into two precincts bounded and designated as follows:

Beginning at the Southeast corner of Section 18, Township 12 S, Range 18 E; thence West along the South line of Lecompton Township to the West line of Douglas County; thence North along said County line to the Kansas River; thence in a Northeasterly direction along the Kansas River to the East line of Section 30, Township 11 S, Range 18 E; thence South to the point of beginning. Said precinct to be known as Big Springs precinct of Lecompton Township.

Beginning at the Southeast corner of Lecompton Township; thence West along said township line to the Southwest corner of Section 17, Township 12 S, Range 18 E; thence North to the Kansas River; thence Southeasterly along the Kansas River to the East line of Lecompton Township; thence South on said Township line to the point of beginning. Said precinct to be known as Lecompton precinct of Lecompton

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that Palmyra Township be and is hereby divided into four